Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 31.8.2011

Wednesday august 31st 2011.

New day – and new hope. Like almost every day, we drove off again today at 06.15 clock. And so Mark was one of the first in the starting line. The weather in the early morning left hoping for good salt and wind conditions.

O-Ton Markus
The conditions were absolutely ideal. The race steward was standing next to me and gave me a sign “three minutes” – “two minutes” – “one minute” – well we did the bike run and tied the Kill Switch on my wrist. My adrenaline began to rise and I was fully focused on my start and ready to run, until my racing steward gave the signal to abort. What had happened?

The launching of me driver crashed into the measured mile mph with about 140/225 km / hr. Until the track was finally ready for the driver again, I waited about an hour at the start, because the track had akkribisch be searched and relieved of any lost parts. The driver is fortunately not much happens – he came with a broken wrist and a broken rib from it. And finally, it could go off for me. I quickened my racing bike and realized immediately that the engine was stuttering at a certain number into the tour, which I promptly dropped my run at 212 km/h.

Bernd fount the mistakes very quickly. The battery and the regulator were faulty. The parts were replaced and I tested the machine briefly out of the course line. The power was there and the engine ran flawlessly. We went to the Pre Staige, carried us up for a starting point and within an hour we drove to Mile 0, to prepare us for the start. I was third in the boot sequence. After about 20 minutes every start was canceled due to extreme wind conditions. In the afternoon, the race organizers decided to stop the racing at about 14.30 clock, due to heavy gust of wind.

The advantage is that tomorrow we can go directly at 7 to Mile since the start order is valid from the day before. We now have only one shot available and we will adjuste and rebuild the grids according to FIM rules. So if it happens, a world record would be valid. Otherwise I would just have an American record.

And so we put everything on one card, because tomorrow is the final day of racing. While I write the blog now, our team is working again on the bike, to have it fixed and ready for tomorrow.

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 30.8.2011

Tuesday august 30 2011.

New day – new hope. At 06.15, the team went to the Salt Flats. We were already at 07.00 clock in the pre staging series for the new run. Everyone was curious how the bike will probably go today. At 10.22 it was time. Markus went to the start and drove off. From the perspective of the audience it looked good, even the sound of the engine left hoping for a fast time. But it was different again …

O-Ton Markus
The shift light was set at 5200 tours. Accordingly, I went and had a pretty good grip. Only in the second Course, there was little escapee on the rear wheel. After about 1.5 miles I was already in the 5th gear and at 5200 tours. The bike was clearly less fast than the first run on Monday. Occurred within the measured mile in the last third of the same as the first run – drop of the engine power and thus also on the rear wheel from skidding. Despite everything, I reached again 155 mph (251 km/h) average speed. Subsequent analysis showed that this time the front racing pistons jammed.

The mechanics team is currently working on high pression on the installation of our last race piston. We believe that achieved with the currently prevailing heat on the Salt Flats (45 degrees) and an altitude of 1200 m, the performance limit of an air-cooled V2 engine is reached, while he runs two minutes or more at top speed and only one or two components not match! But we were lucky, as one of the top aces for motor of the USA is in our hotel. Tonight Ron Dickey came back from Bonneville and saw the mechanics working on the bike. He looked at the two broken racing pistons and he could read them like a book – wow! We have clearly an overheating problem, says Ron, and we must using special spark plugs, which he will give us. The present flitted us before wrong temperatures and so the picture distorted. We will also remove the air filter, so that the engine will not be lean again. If everything is working fine, we would a) solve our engine problem, and b) we would have much more power.

To avoid the intense heat, Markus is already tomorrow in his racingsuit and will be brought from the hotel to the racetrack directly, so we are at the pole positions at 07.00 h. In this way we hope to start before 08.00 h. Markus should fix a record run (178 mph / 286 km), in order that he can do his retourn run immediately. Theory and practice are still often far apart. But still the whole team is motivated – we see what happens tomorrow.

Stay with us…

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 29.8.2011

Monday august 29th 2011.

Several hours of repair. Since we are thousands of miles away from home, improvisation is asked. Our two aces tinkered from the U-Haul ramp and two chairs, a bench, which was right outside the hotel entrance. In addition, Uschi had bought an additional tent to create more shade. But today there were 60.9 Celsius degree temperature asphalt !!!!! The bike was fixed, and the working tools were spread out and then it went on. After 24 hours of intensive work, the bike is now ready to race again.

At 16.30 we drove again toward Bonneville, to complete a first, real Run (hopefully without motor bangers). But it turned the different way ….

We were asked by the race director, to present us at the front desk with the bike. There we learned from FIM racing inspector Curtis and Technical Steward Drew, that a race team at the headquarters of the International Association of FIM (Federation International Motocyclistique) in Geneva, filed a protest against our race bike, because the foot rests are located behind rather than in front of the rear axle. From well-informed source, we know who is behind this action. Because of the FIM was forced to take action (although the FIM has approved the racing bike). For us, this means that without appropriate changes to the bike, we can compete for American Records, but not for world records, as these would not be recognized. Tomorrow we will now pass without a change in one or two test runs to bring in the new engine parts. Then we put the pedal to indicate to what this bike is capable of.

A technical modification of the foot rests is easily possible, only then the seating position of Markus does not fit any more. Above all, the switching operations are dangerous, because the dimensions are no longer correct. A decision of what we do is still open. It is sad that a protest is lodged by a team that is not even drive in our class. This story quickly made the rounds in the paddock, and all the teams and riders could not believe that this happens here. This motivates us more than ever! Turn it on – faster than hell!

The super light conditions by 18 h took advantage of our team photographer Horst Roesler for a great photo shoot and at the same time Markus was able to move his racing bike a few miles.

More stories tomorrow..

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 28.8.2011

Sunday august 28th 2011.

The first ride. Today at 07.30 h the naked bullet bike will definitely allowed to ride, after the technical inspection of the adjustments made yesterday were approved. Almost at the same time the ‘Riders meeting’ took place. The information from the organizers are important, as the sequence of the race will be told. At the same time it is important to note the difference for the american and international track and the measurement for the world records. Meanwhile, Bernd and I ended up to fill the pillowcase, which is used on planes, with thick blankets (!) (Yes we know to help ourself) to have a better position for the rides as it will be put on the bike, where Markus is laying with his chest and therefore his arms will be fixed as they are not hunging around without being stable. Otherwise it costs not only power but it is also an uncertain driving. With some of couple of tapes it has been fixed, and Markus could for the first time trying it out. Except this theory it should be an optimal position. The U-Haul wit the bike and Markus took off on the way to the tank-truck. This is the only car where all bikes who needs special fuel in in certain classes can fill it up. Because after the race on the inpound area the tank will be sealed. And then finaly we could go off after several hours of waiting on the Runcours.

The first run should bring the following information:
1st      Optimum seating position by the new column.
2nd       Measured top speed at 4500 tours (this gives us important information
concerning translation, jetting, etc.

The to the naked bullet attached shift light has the following additional functions, either to show the Km or display of speed. At the start it switched unfortunately to the Km-display instead to the tour.

O-Ton Markus

I realized that the seating position is excellent, the grip was there and the bike hanged up super on the gas. And since I did not know what number I have for a tour, I decided to run on a full throttle. Despite two interconnecting, I had at the beginning of the measured mile 288 km/h on the screen, after about 2/3 thirds of the measurement zone, I had a dramatic drop in performance at about 220 km/h. Nevertheless, I realized an average of around 250 km/h. The subsequent analysis of the engine revealed a piston jamming. I know now that the bike is adjusted optimally and should also have the appropriate power to surpass the existing world record of 286 km/h. Fortunately we have two extra pistons racing here, and are confident that we are ready to race again tomorrow afternoon.

And so it was called for today to leave the paddock. We drove back to the hotel early afternoon. While I write this blog, Coni, Michi and Bernd are working under high pressure on the bike, to get the engine again running. We are looking forward what will be tomorrow.

By now

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 27.8.2011

Saturday august 27th 2011.

The day of decision. Today the technical inspection is on the agenda. But before that happens, we still had to pick up the U-haul (small truck for the race bike). And there we were ready by 9 clock and it worked after all. In a convoy we drove to the place where they put the box to be stored and were curious to find it ina  and were curious to see what was supplied in the box condition. People all clear, everything has arrived safely and as we drove by 12 clock finally to Bonneville Salt Flats to the. One thing I can say before, would anyone complain in Switzerland over 33 degrees, then I do not know what was out here today. There were around 45 degrees! After the campers,  the vehicles and the U-Haul were parked and placed it, our team worked like bees in the house. Everyone grabbed some stuff and in an instant all the material was unpacked. Together with Markus, I stood after in line at the pre-entry to be done, to place the forms for the technical inspection and to confirm the registration. After an hour it was done and now we had to take only the last hurdle. Here also was announced to be patience for a good two hours we were at the row. Drew, chief engineer FIM inspected the bike and found just three little things that need to be done by tomorrow, so it is allowed for the race. Meanwhile, Markus has took on the race suit so few photo sessions with the great light on the Salt Flats of Horst Roesler could be made yet. And then it started with the first ride – what a feeling, after driving up and down it could feel the power of it! Incidentally, it is not easy and it will not be a cakewalk for Markus. But that’s Bonneville, you have to earn it.

Then we organized at various neighbors drills, etc., so Coni and Michi could start with the changes. The weather has now turned and a storm was coming. This meant that the tent of the neighbors (because it was not covered) flew us around the ears, respectively, to the camper and caused a corresponding loss to the outside wall. Super, and five minutes before the driver left the camp of the tent.The bike was finished up in the evening. Super job. And so we went at 18.30 clock back to the hotel and we are confident, that tomorrow the weather is friendly again and we can start the first few rides on.

By now

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 31.8.2011

Mittwoch, 31. August 2011

Neuer Tag – und wieder neue Hoffnung. Wie schon fast täglich, fuhren wir auch heute wieder um 06.15 Uhr ab. Und so war Markus als einer der ersten in der Startlinie. Das Wetter am frühen morgen liess auf gute Salz- und Windverhältnisse hoffen.

O-Ton Markus

Die Verhältnisse waren absolut optimal. Der Rennsteward stand neben mir und gab mir ein Zeichen “noch drei Minuten” – “noch zwei Minuten “ – “noch eine Minute” – nun liessen wir das Bike laufen und befestigten den Killswitch an meinem Handgelenk. Mein Adrenalin fing an zu steigen und ich war voll auf meinen Start fokussiert und bereit für den Run, bis mir der Rennsteward das Zeichen zum Abbruch gab. Was war passiert?

Der vor mir startende Fahrer ist in der measured mile mit rund 140 mph / 225 km/h gestürzt. Bis die Rennstrecke endlich wieder frei gegeben wurde, wartete ich rund eine Stunde am Start, da diese akkribisch von allfällig verlorenen Teilen durchsucht und befreit werden musste. Dem Fahrer ist zum Glück nicht viel passiert – er kam mit einem gebrochenen Handgelenk und einer gebrochenen Rippe davon. Und endlich konnte es für mich losgehen. Ich beschleunigte mein Rennbike und realisierte sofort, dass der Motor bei einer gewissen Tourenzahl ins stottern kam, worauf ich den Lauf bei 212 km/h abbrach.

Bernd fand den Fehler sehr schnell. Die Batterie und der Regler waren defekt. Die Teile wurden ersetzt und ich testete kurz die Maschine au der Nebenstrecke. Die Leistung war da und der Motor lief einwandfrei. Wir gingen zum Pre Stage, trugen uns ein für einen Startplatz und nach gut einer Stunde fuhren wir zur Meile 0, um uns auf den Start vorzubereiten. Ich war der Dritte in der Startsequenz. Nach rund 20 Minuten wurden alle Starts gecancelled infolge extremen Windverhältnissen. Im Laufe des Nachmittags namen die Böen zu, worauf die Rennleitung um ca. 14.30 Uhr beschloss, für heute alles zu beenden.

Der Vorteil ist, dass wir morgen um 07.00 Uhr direkt zur Meile 0 fahren können, da die Startreihenfolge vom Vortag Gültigkeit hat. Da wir jetzt nur noch einen Schuss zur Verfügung haben, werden wir das Bike mit den angepassten Fussrastern gemäss FIM Regeln umbauen. Somit wäre ein allfälliger Weltrekord gültig. Ansonsten würde ich nur einen amerikanischen Rekord erzielen.

Und so setzen wir alles auf eine Karte, denn morgen ist bereits der letzte Renntag. Während ich nun den Blog hier beende heisst es für unser Team erneut zu arbeiten.

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 30.8.2011

Dienstag, 30. August 2011

Neuer Tag – neue Hoffnung. Um 06.15 Uhr ging das Team geschlossen zu den Salt Flats. Bereits um 07.00 Uhr waren wir in der Pre Staging Reihe für den neuen Lauf. Alle waren gespannt wie das Bike heute wohl fahren wird. Um 10.22 Uhr war es soweit. Markus ging an den Start und fuhr los. Aus Sicht der Zuschauer sah es gut aus, auch der Ton des Motors liess auf eine schnelle Zeit hoffen. Doch es kam erneut anders…

O-Ton Markus

Der Schaltblitz war auf 5200 Touren eingestellt. Entsprechend fuhr ich los und hatte ziemlich guten Grip. Einzig im 2. Gang gab es kleine Ausbrecher am Hinterrad. Nach rund 1,5 Meilen war ich bereits im 5. Gang und bei 5200 Touren. Das Bike hatte klar weniger Knall als beim 1. Lauf am Montag. Innerhalb der measured mile passierte im letzten Drittel das gleiche wie beim 1. Lauf – Abfall der Motorenleistung und dadurch auch ein Schleudern am Hinterrad. Trotz allem erreichte ich wiederum 155 mph (251 km/h) average speed. Die anschliessende Analyse zeigte auf, dass diesmal der vordere Rennkolben klemmte.

Das Mechanikerteam arbeitet im Moment fieberhaft am Einbau unseres letzten Rennkolbens. Wir glauben, das bei der momentan herrschenden Hitze auf den Salt Flats (ca. 45 Grad) und der Meereshöhe von 1200 m, die Leistungsgrenze eines luftgekühlten V2 Motors erreicht ist wenn er zwei Minuten und mehr auf Topspeed läuft und nur eine oder zwei Komponenten nicht stimmen! Wie es der Zufall will, ist einer von den Top Motorencracks der USA in unserem Hotel. Heute Abend kam Ron Dickey von Bonneville zurück und sah unsere Mechaniker am Bike arbeiten. Er schaute sich die beiden kaputten Rennkolben an und konnte daraus wie in einem Buch lesen – wow!!! Wir haben klar ein Überhitzungsproblem sagt Ron und es müssen spezielle Zündkerzen eingesetzt werden, welche er uns gibt. Die jetzigen gaukelten uns falsche Temperaturen vor und verfälschten so das Bild. Ebenso werden wir den Luftfilter vollständigen entfernen, damit der Motor nicht wieder abmagert. Sollte dies alles klappen, wäre a) unser Motorenproblem gelöst und b) würden wir über viel mehr Leistung verfügen.

Um der grossen Hitze auszuweichen, wird Markus morgen bereits im Renndress vom Hotel zur Rennstrecke gebracht, damit wir bei den ersten Startplätzen um 07.00 Uhr sind. Dadurch hoffen wir, vor 08.00 Uhr starten zu können. Sollte Markus eine Rekordfahrt hinkriegen (178 mph / 286 km), kann er seinen retourn run sofort antreten. Theorie und Praxis liegen doch oft weit auseinander. Nach wie vor ist das gesamte Team motiviert – sehen wir was morgen passiert.

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 29.8.2011

Montag, 29. August 2011

Mehrstündige Reparatur. Da wir tausende von Meilen von zu Hause weg sind, ist Improvisation gefragt. Unsere zwei Cracks bastelten aus der U-Haul Rampe und zwei Stühlen eine Werkbank, welche direkt vor dem Hoteleingang war. Zusätzlich kaufte Uschi noch ein zusätzliches Zelt, um mehr Schatten zu erzeugen. Waren es doch heute 60,9 Celsius Grad Asphalt Temperatur!!!!! Das Bike wurde befestigt, das Werkzeug ausgelegt und dann ging es los. Nach 24 Stunden intensivster Arbeit ist das Bike wieder rennbereit.

Um 16.30 fuhren wir dann wiederum Richtung Bonneville, um einen ersten, richtigen Run zu absolvieren (hoffentlich ohne Motorenknaller). Doch es kam anders….

Wir wurden von der Rennleitung aufgefordert, uns bei der technischen Abnahme mit dem Bike zu melden. Dort erfuhren wir vom FIM Renninspektor Curtis und Technical Steward Drew, dass ein Rennteam beim Hauptsitz des Weltverbandes FIM (Fédération International Motocyclistique) in Genf, Protest gegen unser Rennbike eingelegt hat, weil die Fussraster sich hinter statt vor der Hinterradachse befinden. Aus gut informierter Quelle wissen wir, wer hinter dieser Aktion steckt. Aufgrund dessen wurde die FIM gezwungen, aktiv zu werden (obwohl die FIM das Rennbike abgenommen hat). Für uns heisst dies, dass wir ohne entsprechende Veränderungen am Bike, für amerikanische Rekorde antreten können, jedoch nicht für Weltrekorde, da diese nicht anerkannt würden. Morgen werden wir nun ohne Veränderung ein bis zwei Testläufe absolvieren, um die neuen Motorenteile einzufahren. Anschliessend geben wir Vollgas, um zu zeigen, zu was dieses Bike fähig ist.

Ein technischer Umbau der Fussraster ist problemlos möglich, nur stimmt dann die Sitzposition von Markus in keiner Art und Weise mehr. Vor allem die Schaltvorgänge sind gefährlich, da die Dimensionen nicht mehr stimmen. Eine Entscheidung darüber ist noch offen. Es ist traurig, dass ein Protest eingelegt wird von einem Team, dass nicht mal in unserer Klasse fährt. Diese Geschichte machte schnell die Runde im Paddock und stiess bei allen Teams und Fahrer auf grosses Unverständnis. Dies motiviert uns erst recht! Turn it on – faster than hell!!!

Die super Lichtverhältnisse um 18 Uhr nützte unser Teamfotograf Horst Rösler für ein tolles Fotoshooting aus und zugleich konnte Markus sein Rennbike einige Meilen bewegen.

Weitere Meldungen folgen morgen..

Cristina Saegesser

 

 

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 28.8.2011

Sonntag, 28. August 2011

Die erste Fahrt. Heute um 07.30 Uhr konnte das naked bullet Bike definitiv zugelassen werden, nachdem die technische Inspektion die gestern durchgeführten  Anpassungen gut geheissen hat. Fast gleichzeitig fand das “Riders Meeting” statt. Die Informationen vom Veranstalter sind wichtig, wie der Ablauf des Rennens ist. Gleichzeitig gilt es, den Unterschied für die amerikanische und die internationale Strecke sowie die Messung für die angestrebten Weltrekorde zu beachten. Mittlerweile bastelteten Bernd und ich aus dem Kissenbezug, welche man im Flieger benutzt, und dicken Decken(!) (ja man weiss sich zu helfen) eine Stütze für den Brustbereich. So kann Markus liegend auf dem Bike seine Arme entspannen und hängt nicht in der Luft. Sonst kostet dies nicht nur Kraft sondern es kommt auch noch die Unsicherheit quasi hänged zu fahren. Mit einigen Tapes wurde diese fixiert und Markus konnte erstmals damit Probe liegen. Soweit in der Theorie tipp topp. Mit dem U-Haul wurde das Bike mit dem Fahrer zum Tank-Lastwagen gefahren. Dies ist der einzige Wagen, wo alle Bikes in bestimmten Klassen und mit speziellem Benzin ausgerüstet tanken dürfen. Anschliessend wird der Tandeckel versiegelt. Und dann konnte es nach mehrstündigem Warten endlich auf dem Runcours losgehen.

Der erste Run sollte folgende Erkentnisse bringen:

  1. optimale Sitzposition durch die neue Stütze.
  2. gemessene Endgeschwindigkeit bei 4500 Touren (dies gibt uns wichtige Informationen bezüglich Übersetzung, Bedüsung, etc.

Der auf dem naked bullet befestigte Schaltblitz hat noch folgende Zusatzfunktionen; entweder Anzeige der Km oder der Tourenzahl. Beim Start switchte der Display leider auf die Km- anstelle der Tourenanzeige.

O-Ton Markus

Ich realisierte, dass die Sitzposition optimal ist, der Grip da war und das Bike super am Gas hing. Und da ich nicht wusste, was ich für eine Tourenzahl habe, beschloss ich, Vollgas zu geben. Trotz zweimaligem Verschalten, hatte ich zu Beginn der measured mile 288 km/h auf dem Display, nach ca. 2/3 Drittel der Messzone hatte ich einen dramatischen Leistungsabfall auf ca. 220 km/h. Trotzdem realisierte ich einen Durchschnitt von rund 250 km/h. Die anschliessende Analyse des Motors ergab einen Kolbenklemmer. Ich weiss nun, dass das Bike optimal eingestellt ist und auch über die entsprechende Leistung verfügen sollte, um den bestehenden Weltrekord von 286 km/h zu übertreffen. Zum Glück haben wir zwei zusätzliche Rennkolben dabei, und sind zuversichtlich dass wir morgen nachmittag wieder startklar sind.

Und so hiess es für heute das Fahrerlager zu verlassen. Also fuhren wir am Nachmittag zurück ins Hotel. Während ich nun diesen Blog schreibe, arbeitet das technische Team mit Hochdruck am Bike, um den Motor wieder flott zu kriegen. Sind wir mal gespannt auf den morgigen Tag.

Cristina Saegesser

Cristina’s Bonneville-Blog 27.8.2011

Samstag, 27. August 2011

Der Tag der Entscheidung. Heute steht die technische Abnahme auf dem Programm. Doch bevor es dazu kommt, mussten wir ja noch den U-haul (Kleinlaster für das Rennbike) abholen. Und siehe da, um 9 Uhr standen wir bereit und es klappte doch noch. Im Konvoi fuhren wir zur Lagerhalle und waren gespannt, in welchem Zustand die Kiste angeliefert wurde. Entwarnung Leute, alles ist heil angekommen und so fuhren wir um 12 Uhr endlich nach Bonneville zu den Salt Flats. Eines kann ich schon mal sagen, sollte jemand sich in der Schweiz über 33 Grad beklagen- wir ahtten 45 Grad im Schatten. Nachdem wir unsere Fahrzeuge platziert hatten, ging es zu wie im Bienenhaus. Jeder packte an und im Nu war das gesamte Material ausgepackt. Gemeinsam mit Markus wartete ich dann in der Reihe beim Pre-Entry Ort um die Formulare für die technische Abnahme zu erledigen und die Anmeldung zu bestätigen. Nach gut einer Stunde war auch dies erledigt und nun mussten wir nur noch die letzte Hürde nehmen, die technische Abnahme. Weitere zwei Stunden in der prallen Sonne, uff! Drew, Cheftechniker FIM, inspizierte das Bike äusserst genau. Er fand doch prmpt drei kleine Details, die bis morgen noch erledigt werden müssen, damit das Bike für das Rennen zugelassen wird. Danach musste sich Markus in windeseile in das Rennkombi stürzen damit Fotograf Horst Rösler noch ein paar Fotos im idealen Licht schiessen konnte. Und dann ging es los mit der ersten Fahrt – what a feeling! Noch einige Male einfahren mit Power ohne Ende! Übrigens bequem ist die naked bullet nicht. Gar nicht… Doch die Salt Flats haben noch nie jemandem was geschenkt.

Dann kam ein Sturm auf. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass es uns das Zelt unseres Nachbarn um die Ohren bzw. um den Camper gehauen hat, Beulen inklusive.  das Bike wurde bis am Abend dennoch fertig. Ein dickes Dankeschön. Um  18.30 Uhr führen wir allle zurück ins Hotel, gebrannt von der Sonne und getrocknet vom Salz. Morgen stehen die ersten Trainings auf dem Programm. Markus ist heiss drauf.

Cristina Saegesser